# **Public Document Pack**

# Dorset County Council



# Supplementary Annexures to the minutes:

**Annexure 1** – Questions by Members of the Council

Annexure 2 – Appointments to Committees, Joint Committees and Other Organisations



#### Annexure 1

### **Question Under Standing Order 20**

Question from Councillor Paul Kimber to the Lead of the Council in relation to Refugees.

#### Question

What is the County Council doing in readiness for refugees generally coming to Dorset?

#### <u>Answer</u>

The council has been involved in a range of meetings held regionally to consider the issues surrounding Syrian refugees since the initial government announcements.

We have not received a request for action to this point and meetings have been about keeping us informed and understanding what needs there may be.

However, specific work is now ongoing to establish what our role would be as a request may be forthcoming in coming months. A meeting has been arranged for 16 May 2016 for all agencies who will need to work with us in resettling refugees in our area across the councils in Dorset.

Invited to the meeting is a representative of South West Councils who are working with the Home Office on the second phase of the resettlement programme.

Children's Services have participated in some regional meetings in preparation for any refugees who may be unaccompanied children.

As the needs become known we will of course ensure that all members are updated and briefed on the Council's position



# Appointments to the Committees of the County Council, Joint Committees and the Dorset and Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Authority 2016/17

#### **Audit and Governance Committee**

Members of the County Council (not being members of the Cabinet) 10

<u>Conservative Group</u> (6) <u>Liberal Democrat Group</u> (3) <u>Labour Group</u> (1) Pauline Batstone Janet Dover Kate Wheller

Pauline Batstone Janet Dover
Andrew Cattaway David Harris
Hilary Cox Trevor Jones

Lesley Dedman Peter Richardson Peter Wharf

#### **Economic Growth Overview and Scrutiny Committee**

Members of the County Council (not being members of the Cabinet) 10

<u>Conservative Group</u> (6) <u>Liberal Democrat Group</u> (3) <u>Labour Group</u> (1) Ronald Coatsworth Richard Biggs <u>Labour Group</u> (1)

Ronald Coatsworth Richard Biggs
Hilary Cox Andy Canning
Mike Lovell Mervyn Jeffery

Margaret Phipps Daryl Turner John Wilson

#### **People and Communities Overview and Scrutiny Committee**

Members of the County Council (not being members of the Cabinet or the Audit and

Scrutiny

Committee) 10

Co-opted members (voting on education matters only)

4
14

1.

<u>Conservative Group</u> (6) <u>Liberal Democrat Group</u> (3) <u>Labour Group</u> (1) Steve Butler Barrie Cooper Kate Wheller

Steve Butler Barrie Cooper
Ronald Coatsworth Fred Drane
Spencer Flower Ros Kayes

David Jones William Trite David Walsh

#### **Safeguarding Overview and Scrutiny Committee**

Members of the County Council (not being members of the Cabinet) 10

<u>Conservative Group</u> (6) <u>Liberal Democrat Group</u> (3) <u>Labour Group</u> (1) Pauline Batstone Beryl Ezzard Mike Byatt

Pauline Batstone Beryl Ezzard
Steve Butler Susan Jefferies
Toni Coombs David Mannings

Peter Hall Mike Lovell Daryl Turner **Children's and Adult Services Appeals Committee** 

<u>5</u>

8

Members of the County Council (not being members of the Cabinet)

(plus reserve members)

Conservative Group (3) Liberal Democrat Group (1) Labour Group (1) Paul Kimber Mervyn Jeffery

Pauline Batstone Lesley Dedman

Daryl Turner

Reserve Members

Conservative Group (3) Liberal Democrat Group (1) Labour Group (1) Susan Jefferies Kate Wheller

Margaret Phipps Peter Richardson Peter Wharf

**Regulatory Committee** 

Members of the County Council (not being members of the Cabinet) 15

<u>Liberal Democrat Group</u> (4) Conservative Group (9) Labour Group (2) Barrie Cooper Pauline Batstone Paul Kimber Mark Tewkesbury

Beryl Ezzard Steve Butler **David Jones** Mervyn Jeffery Ian Gardner **David Mannings** Mike Lovell

Margaret Phipps Peter Richardson Daryl Turner David Walsh

**Staffing Committee** 

Based on the Recommendations of the Staffing Committee on 29 March 2016

Members of the County Council

Conservative Group (5) Liberal Democrat Group (2) Labour Group (1) **Trevor Jones** Mark Tewkesbury

Andrew Cattaway Peter Finney Robert Gould Peter Richardson John Wilson

**David Mannings** 

**Pension Fund Committee** 

**Pension Fund Committee** 

Members of the County Council 5 Representative of Bournemouth Borough Council 1 Representative of the Borough of Poole 1 Representative of District Councils 1

County Council Members

Conservative Group (3) Liberal Democrat Group (1) Labour Group (1) Ronald Coatsworth **Andy Canning** Mike Byatt

Mike Lovell Peter Wharf

Pace 4

## **Joint Committees**

**Dorset Health Scrutiny Committee** 

Members of the County Council 6
Members appointed by each of the six district/borough councils in Dorset 6
12

County Council Members

Conservative Group (4) Liberal Democrat Group (1) Labour Group (1)
Ronald Coatsworth Ros Kayes Paul Kimber

David Jones Mike Lovell William Trite

**Police and Crime Panel** 

Members of Bournemouth Borough Council4Members of the County Council2Members of the Borough of Poole3Borough/Districts6Independent217

County Council Members

<u>Conservative Group</u> (1) <u>Liberal Democrat Group</u> (1)

Ian Gardner Fred Drane

#### **Dorset Waste Partnership Joint Committee\***

Cabinet Members (2)

Conservative Group (2)Reserves (2)Peter FinneyRobin CookRobert GouldJill Haynes

#### Joint Public Health Board\*

County Council Members (2)

Conservative Group (2)Reserves (2)Jill HaynesColin JamiesonRebecca KnoxVacancy

Observer Status - vacancy

#### **Dorset and Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Authority**

Dorset and Wiltshire Fire and Rescue Authority comprises 30 members appointed in proportion to the number of electors in each constituent council area (15 from Dorset, Bournemouth and Poole and 15 from Wiltshire and Swindon). Dorset County Council has 8 representatives:-

<u>Conservative Group</u> (5) <u>Liberal Democrat Group</u> (2) <u>Labour Group</u> (1) Steve Butler Susan Jefferies Mike Byatt

Steve Butler Susan Jefferies Ronald Coatsworth Trevor Jones

Spencer Flower Colin Jamieson Rebecca Knox

<sup>\*</sup>NB As joint committees exercising executive functions, the Leader of the County Council is responsible for making these appointments.

# **Other Organisations**

# **Local Government Association - General Assembly**

<u>Conservative</u> (3) <u>Liberal Democrat</u> (1)

Deborah Croney Fred Drane

Peter Finney Robert Gould

## **County Council's Network**

<u>Conservative</u> (3) <u>Liberal Democrat</u> (1)

Robin Cook Beryl Ezzard

Peter Finney Robert Gould

### **South West Councils**

Conservative (1)
Robert Gould

## **South West Councils Employers Panel**

Conservative (1)
Robin Cook